ARTIST OF THE MONTH: PATRICIA OF ‘GLOBAL COUTURE’!

artistofthemonth

APRIL

Meet Vogue Binge’s Artist of the Month for April, Patricia! Patricia gives us insight on her brand, Global Couture and her passions in life. She takes us on her natural journey and how it made her stronger.  Set back, relax, and prepare to be inspired!

11111

The beauty behind Global Couture…

My name is Patricia and I am the Owner and Designer of Global Couture (http://globalcouture.net). I am originally from Grand Rapids, Michigan and currently reside in St. Louis, MO. During the day, I am a tenured college counselor and full time doctoral candidate completing my dissertation.

edwwd

Global Couture is…

Global Couture is an expression of my love for travel, self-exploration, cultural expression, and creativity. Global Couture designs hair accessories, jewelry, & apparel for the bold, chic, and culturally curious. Global Couture is trying to spread the word about embracing your natural hair and its reflection of our history. “Loving your hair represents loving yourself.” Love your curls, if they are wavy, curly, kinky or coily. I also want my work to create a dialogue around unchecked societal norms.

21

What inspired you to create your brand?

I decided to begin Global Couture 2 years ago, when I noticed I couldn’t find any accessories or natural hair apparel (mainly T shirts) I wanted to wear, that reflected my new consciousness. My vision for Global Couture is to encourage others to embrace the natural beauty in all of us from the inside-out. For me, hair is the beginning of the conversation of self-acceptance.

How long have you been natural and what influenced your transition?

I am natural and love it! I don’t have the exact date I went natural but I believe my last relaxer was 2009. I decided to ‘go natural’ because I was tired of dealing with breakage and bad hair days from relaxers. I also was really frustrated with my hair because it “wasn’t growing” which I now understand is more of a retention issue.

11

During transitioning, did you ever feel tempted to get a relaxer?

NO! I would never get a relaxer again.

photo 2 (2)

What is your number one advice for transitioners or those considering going natural?
Big Chop! Lol. No just kidding, but I wish I would have big chopped earlier. A funny story; I was finally ready to lose the length and cut the relaxer out. So, after a few snips in the bathroom I decided to hop in the car and go to the salon nearby. I get there and the stylist said, “Honey, we don’t do that kind of hair,” and though wow so salons don’t do ‘real hair,’ I ended up convincing her that she could easily identify the relaxed (i.e., straight ends) and I ONLY wanted her to cut them. She did and when she was finished she picked out my hair and patted it down into a perfectly round fro. I liked it!  I felt stronger immediately!
 
11

How has your natural hair journey changed your outlook on life or yourself?

I would say going BACK to natural has changed my life. Going back to my roots during this natural hair journey has been truly self-affirming. Through this journey, I fell in love with the freedom, self-expression, and renewed confidence fostered by a simple ‘hairdo’ change. I found quickly it was more than a hair style change, it became a lifestyle change. I began to take more risks outside of the expected and mainstream forms in beauty, hairstyles, clothing, and accessories. I believe this ‘mini’ transformation paired with my travels through South American, Asia, Europe and the Caribbean has added to my appreciation for various forms of beauty, personal expression and culture expression. Global Couture is an expression of my renewed cultural appreciation.

top banner nappy tee (2)

Not only the owner and designer of Global Couture, but you’re also a college counselor and doctoral candidate. Through managing all roles, how do you take out time for yourself?

Traveling is my passion. I add stamps in my passport every chance I get! I came up with the name Global Couture and logo because I want my brand to reflect fresh, diverse, eclectic beauty and styles; I appreciate from around the world. I have a huge list of places I want to travel so when I have time I hop on a plane to rejuvenate.

kissmykusls_zps980b72fc

Those who are interested in creating their own boutique should know…

I think my most important lesson for me has been feeling frustrated daily is normal. LOL You are undertaking a new business so the learning curve is steep. I would suggest keeping your support team close because you will need them to cheer you on most days.

image

What’s next for Global Couture?

My vision for Global Couture is to encourage others to embrace the natural beauty in all of us from the inside-out. I want to continue to grow my business and expand partnerships with local and international charities. I launched the Global Couture Foundation this year. The “I am global design” design was created to support local and international philanthropy. All profits will be donated to UNICEF (and similar local charities with a strong history of positive contributions). I am really excited about this project.

4442err

Where can we find Global Couture ?

Global Couture is sold exclusively online at http://www.globalcouture.net

Blog: http://globalcoutureblog.net

Like Global Couture on Facebook, Twitter:@globalcouture1, and Follow on Instagram:@globalcouture, Pinterest: globalcouture1

I can be reached by email: patricia@globalcouture.net

Not everyone has the courage to take on their own natural hair journey. As a strong woman, Patricia took on her own, embracing strength in confidence. Through her brand she encourages women everywhere to embrace their natural hair and beauty. Whether you have natural hair, considering going natural, or taking on your own journey, Global Couture is a great brand to help you embrace self-love!

Thank you Patricia for this lovely interview! Best of luck to you and your brand!

insp

Leave a Reply

