INSPIRATION INTERVIEWS: With Shameless Maya!

This morning, I had the lovely opportunity of speaking with Maya Washington also known as Shameless Maya. Maya started “Shameless” journey where she went a year promoting herself through social media. At the end of the experience, she would cut off all of her hair. With no background in promotion, she put herself out there gaining confidence and support in return. Though it was hard, Maya accomplished her journey and shares her experience with us.

Take a look…

Me: Vogue Binge is a website that is based on inspiring people. I think what you were doing with your Shameless is cool, because it inspires a lot of people to embrace who they are and change into a better person. What inspired you to do the movement?Maya: Social media is a huge part of life now-a-days and I’m seeing people get all of these opportunities. There are a lot of artist out there like myself who are too shy and humble to put themselves out there. People out there who are promoting themselves may not be too talented, but they are out their doing it. I was inspired to commit my life, because you know, you only have one life.

Me: That is true. Did you expect it to encourage a lot of people to change who they are or did you do it for yourself?

Maya: I did it for myself and I did it for others as well. I had the intentions of getting as many viewers as I could, but having expectations in actually meeting them are still kind of different to me. Like would you expect all of these subscribers and views? I kind of did, but it’s hard to realize it.

Me: Right, it’s kind of a surprise. How hard was it for you to start promoting yourself without having experience?

Maya: It was really hard– really really hard. I have a lot of anxiety. I find it so embarrassing and so tacky. I would make these videos and I would like literally cry– The voices that go on inside of a person’s mind– it’s so bizarre. I know I’m not the only one. They’ll just have these mental voices and blocks that prevent them from doing something because they’re so afraid of opinions, self-image, and how they will be perceived by other people.

Me: Right. It’s hard when your trying to deal with what other people think. People have to ignore those voices.

Maya: Yeah. Those voices are very loud and sometimes they seem very real. But, the whole reason I started this channel is to get over it. Every time I do it, it gets easier and easier.

Me: Well that’s good. It all comes with experience. When cutting your hair were you really nervous? Were you thinking about those voices or what people might say?

Maya: I wasn’t nervous about it really until it the day of. So um..yea, I guess I was afraid of other people’s opinions. I was more afraid of the whole look of things. ‘Cause I’m like, ‘Damn, I think I’m going to look awful.’ I felt that way too, ’cause after I did it I was like, ‘Wow, I’m dumb.’ (laughs)

Me: I mean, it was a big step. There are a lot of people who are thinking about cutting their hair and don’t have the courage to do it. Do you miss your hair?

Maya: No..(giggles) I do not miss my hair at all. I have it gone. I enjoyed having it. The thing is, I hear a lot of girls are going natural and going without relaxers for so long. It’s one thing to embrace something that you were born with, and you never really knew what it looked like or what to do. I’ve always known my hair. I’ve never had to deal with that before. It’s a little different. I would not tell another girl, especially a girl that is transitioning to just cut it off. That’s just so dumb, because you’re just discovering. And it’s like a I’ve always known my hair type of thing, so I’m fine with getting rid of it.

Me: That’s good. It’s like embracing a new type of confidence. Now, let’s talk about fashion. How would you describe your style?

Maya: Uh..I guess my style is…I don’t know. It’s kind of tomboyish. I’m very casual–  I do like bold prints and stuff like that. But I think now that I cut my hair, I prefer clean lines and kind of a mix of androgyny. I really don’t like hyper-feminine stuff, like floral prints. I’m not in to stuff like that. I don’t like it on myself, I like it on other people. (giggles)

Me: Oh ok! What advice do you have for those who are trying to embark in cutting their hair or starting a journey of their own?

Maya: I say if it’s something that you want to do, it’s your idea and you want to do it, then go ahead and do it. You don’t wanna live with regret. You don’t wanna chicken out. And you don’t want to be like, ‘Well man, I wish I would have done it when I didn’t.’ If that’s something that you want to do and the only thing that’s holding is back is YOUR plan to do it.

Me: And how have you changed throughout the journey? What have you learned from the experience?

Maya: I learned that finishing a Shameless or any sort of personal challenge is a huge confidence booster. Who I am today is not in any way worth changing, but it was crazy how much I’ve just changed within a year. I was real timid. I am an open person, but I was so reserved; so shy. Now, I’m just like whatever.

Me: Kind of just don’t care; just be who you are!

Maya: Yeah, just be who you are, and then you realize who was really stopping you from being who you were…it was just you!

Me: Yea, just holding back. Well thank you for this interview, I really appreciate it!

Maya: I hope it was helpful and you could distill something of that.

Me: It was!

Maya was once timid and shy, and that all changed with being “shameless”.  With just a decision to challenge herself in life, she came out strong. Making the choice to go outside of your comfort zone, doing things you’ve never done can help you a lot with embracing who you are. As Maya said, a simple personal challenge is a huge “confidence booster.” So if you aren’t too sure about who you are, or your purpose in life, challenge yourself. I promise there will be a great outcome in the end! You will transform into a beautiful butterfly with pure confidence!

Be sure to check out Maya on:
ShamelessMaya.com
YouTube | Shameless Maya

Photos Courtesy of: Shamelessmaya.com      
Leave a Reply

