INSPIRATION INTERVIEWS: WITH LESLIE YOUNG OF LIFETIME’S ‘PREACHERS’ WIVES’!

This week’s “Inspiration Interviews” features the beautiful Leslie Young, who is a mother, wife, and fashion blogger. Leslie is also apart of a television pilot on Lifetime called Preachers’ Wives. Check out all Leslie has to say on her life, the show, and fashion.
 
What is your name and title?
My name is Leslie Young. I don’t think I have a title, do I? If I had to create a title for myself it would be the Creator of Bloggers Like Me, online blogging community.
 
Tell us a little about yourself and what sparked your interest in fashion.
Growing up the only female child, I had a lot of hand-me-downs from my older brother that I would refashion into something funky. Like most girls, I also pillaged my mom’s closet for clothes and jewelry she didn’t wear. In a sense I guess you could say I was forced to be creative.
 
Would you consider this fashion to be your passion? If so, when did you realize this is what you love to do?
If you asked me 10 years ago if fashion was my passion, my answer would have very matter-of-factly been a resounding Yes! At this point in my life, although I’m passionate about fashion, I’ve come to a place where I can draw a line and focus on my family which is what I’m really passionate about.
 
 
How do you balance out being a “Preacher’s Wife” and a fashion blogger?
Balancing being a Preacher’s Wife with being a fashion blogger certainly has its challenges. If you follow my blog you know that my style can be very funky or very classic (depending on the day) but usually very casual and probably not very church appropriate. I definitely tend to keep my church attire and my every day attire separate. Some might ask why I can’t just wear what I want? Well, truth is I can, but when I go to church I don’t want my attention, or anyone else’s, to be distracted by what I’m wearing. There’s a time and a place and I have six days a week to be as distracting as I wanna be! LOL
 
How did you feel while being on the show, and the other wives judging you because you aren’t the typical “Preacher’s Wife”?
No matter who you ask, no one enjoys being judged. After viewing the show, it was a bit of a shock to see the feedback, but I take it with a grain of salt and I’m thankful.
 
 
 
What are some of the challenges and successes you have overcome in while being apart of “Preachers’ Wives”?
Being on Preachers Wives stretched me to my limits. Because the shoot only lasted 6 days there was a lot that took place behind the scenes. I went several days in a row with no sleep and I spent a great deal of time away from my family. When all was said and done, I was happy to have had my friend Love Collins from Love Collins Clothier there to help me with all of the fashion show details.
 
What is the most valuable lesson you have learned about life/yourself while being on the show?
Being on Preacher’s Wives was an experience I’ll never forget. The most valuable lesson I learned about life is someone is always watching. I remember feeling so overwhelmed at times during the tougher points of the shoot. The time when I was really being pushed I had to remind myself that I have children, a husband and an entire church organization that I need to be mindful of and most importantly, I’m living for God and I will be accountable to Him for my actions.
 
What advice do you have for women who are FLInTs (First Ladies in Training)?
Being a FLInT means you’re living in a fishbowl. All of your actions will be on display and the truth is that people {especially new believers} are prone to believing more of what they see than what they hear so if you’re truly living a life for God, while you will most certainly have setbacks and frustrations, what matters is how you allow God to handle them through you.
 
What inspired you to create a fashion blog?
I was inspired to create a fashion blog by accident. I was online one day and I came across a few of the more well-known fashion bloggers who journal their daily outfits through pictures. I said to myself, I could totally do that and so I did.
What advice or style tips do you have for fashionistas out there?
I always say a great sense of style doesn’t have to come with a big sticker price. These days there are so many stores like Target, Kmart and other major retailers who have collaborated with high-end designer so create very reasonably priced clothing lines. And of course, vintage boutiques are always a great place to find unique pieces.
 
What is one item in your closet that you can’t live without or feel every girl needs?
I love boyfriend jeans. They’re so versatile and are truly an important piece in every girls wardrobe.
 
Describe your style in 3 words.
Easy, casual, fun
 

What are a few of your long-term and short-term goals you have set for your future?
I have four long term goals. First and foremost I work daily to create a loving and encouraging environment for my husband and children and this is an ongoing daily goal. My second goal is to continue working with my husband in the ministry to grow our church. Third, I have a goal to work alongside my husband in further expanding his printing company, Young Connection, Inc. My fourth goal is to further develop Bloggers Like Me. This group has grown exponentially in a very short time, so I always feel like I’m playing catch-up. I look forward to the day that I can devote my attention more intentionally, instead of just when I have a chance.
Where can we keep up with you and view you on “Preachers’ Wives”?
Preachers’ Wives was a pilot which as of now has not yet been picked up. You can find me blogging at fashiondujourdaily.wordpress.com Tweeting @fashiondujour and Instagramming @fashiondujour
If “Preachers’ Wives” was to turn into a series, would you continue doing the show, mindful of the affects it may have on you, your family, and life?
That’s a  tough question. Children are small for only so long and you’ll never get that time back to make memories. In a perfect world, I’d have a clone!
Is there anything else that you would like us to know about you?
There were so many individuals who helped me to get through the week of the shoot. My husband and kids of course had to put up with my scarcity. Love Collins from Love Collins Clothier was a huge help with the fashion show and I would not have been able to pull it off without her. Sherree Lewis was my sounding board and helped me keep it all in perspective and First Lady Togetta Ulmer helped me to see outside of the moment.
Leslie Young is passionate when it comes to God and her family, as they come first in her life. She is an inspirational woman with much success and courage. Watching her on the show, Preachers’ Wives I made an instant connection with her due her love for God & fashion. Leslie sets a great example for Christian fashion bloggers who all share the same love. Be sure to check out Leslie on the Lifetime pilot and check out her blog.

 

Twitter |  @fashiondujour
 Instagram |  @fashiondujour
Inspiration.

Leave a comment